Nebraska Authors Showcase 2021

Nebraska Authors Showcase 2021

7pm * Virtual Event hosted by the National Willa Cather Center
January 15, 2021

Join the Willa Cather Foundation on Zoom for their second installment of readings and fascinating conversation with four Nebraska writers! Ticket holders will receive a Zoom link via email on the day of the event.

Kate Gaskin is the author of Forever War, winner of the Pamet River Prize (YesYes Books, 2020). Her poems have appeared in journals such as Guernica, Pleiades, Poetry Northwest, 32 Poems, Alaska Quarterly Review, The Southern Review, Blackbird, and The Rumpus, and her work has been anthologized in the 2019 Best American Nonrequired Reading. She is a recipient of a Tennessee Williams Scholarship in poetry from the Sewanee Writers' Conference, as well as a fellowship frmo the Vermont Studio Center. She edits poetry for The Adroit Journal. Currently, she is a Ph.D. student in English at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln.

Lisa Fay Coutley is the author of tether (Black Lawrence Press, April 2020), Errata (Southern Illinois University Press, 2015), selected by Adrienne Su as a winer of the 2014 Crab Orchard Series in Poetry Open Competition Award and named a finalist for the Society of Midland Authors' Best Book of 2015 and Foreward Review's 2015 Book of the Year awards, In the Carnival of Breathing (Black Lawrence Press, 2011), winner of the Black RIver Chapbook Competition, and Back-Talk, winner of the Rooms Chapbook Contest (2010). Her most recent prose and poetry publications include AGNI, Black Warrior Review, Brevity, The Cincinatti Review, Copper Nickel, Los Angeles Review, The Missouri Review, Narrative, Pleiades, Verse Daily, and Waxwing. At present, Lisa is an Assistant Professor of Poetry & Creative Nonfiction at the Univeristy of Nebraska Omaha Writer's Workshop. 

David Philip Mullins is the author of The Brightest Place in the World, a novel, and Greetings from Below, a collection of stories. He is a graduate of the Iowa Writers’ Workshop, and his work has appeared in The Yale Review, The Massachusetts Review, New England Review, Cimarron Review, and elsewhere. He has received fellowships and awards from the National Endowment for the Arts, Yaddo, the Sewanee Writers’ Conference, the Sustainable Arts Foundation, the Nebraska Arts Council, and the Nevada Writers Hall of Fame. He teaches at Creighton University.

Jim Reese is Associate Professor of English and Director of the Great Plains Writers’ Tour at Mount Marty University in Yankton, South Dakota. Reese’s poetry and prose have been widely published, and he has performed readings at venues throughout the country, including the Library of Congress and San Quentin Prison. Reese’s awards include a First Place Allen Ginsberg Poetry Award, a Distinguished Achievement Award from Mount Marty University, and a Distinguished Public Service Award in recognition of his exemplary dedication and contributions to the Education Department at Federal Prison Camp Yankton. His books include These Trespasses (The Backwaters Press, 2005), ghost on 3rd (New York Quarterly Books, 2010), and Really Happy! (New York Quarterly Books, 2014). A fourth collection, Dancing Room Only, is forthcoming by New York Quarterly Books in 2021. His first book of nonfiction, Bone Chalk, was published by Stephen F. Austin State University Press in December of 2019.